Indigenous Land Recognition

We acknowledge that this is sacred land that we are privileged to live, work and play upon. We recognize the deep connection and the long-standing relationship between Indigenous peoples and the land long before the earliest Europeans came to Turtle Island. This land is the traditional territory of the Anishinaabeg, Haudenosaunee, Attawandaron (Neutral), and Wendat peoples. This territory is covered by the Upper Canada Treaties 2 and 6. We acknowledge the loss of indigenous lives due to the arrival of European settlers and that many languages, cultures, and traditions were decimated as well. As we work towards supporting and strengthening community connections in Dorchester, we remember and consider the impact of European settlement on these traditional lands and we work towards a better understanding of how we can work together to respect the land we are on.

Haudenosaunee – This name refers to the Iroquois Confederacy comprising of these Nations: Mohawk, Oneida, Onondaga, Cayuga, Seneca and Tuscarora.
Anishinaabeg/Anishinaabek/Anishnabek/Anishnaabeg – this name covers Ojibway, Odawa, Algonquin, Potawatomi, Nipissing, Mississaugas, Saulteau, etc….all the Algonkian/Ojibwa Nations.